Just another WordPress.com site

Task 2

Another Chase sequence I’m particularly fond of is from the Japanese hit film Tekkon Kinkreet. The soundtrack was produced by the band Plaid. Each track has be scored with a Grammatical role: I.e. The music remains unchanged through out despite changes in scene or action. Below is a clip from the film, notice how the music describes the pace. I won’t be applying this technique to my first piece but it is interesting to see the different ways composers can represent the feeling of fast movement or high energy.

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/21301527″>Untitled</a&gt; from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user6328236″>daniel scarborough</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

Taking a clip from the Batman movie – The Dark Knight we were asked to compose a soundtrack using only Piano notes, emphasising different factors with in i.e. shots fired, people escaping, cars crashing etc. I’ve used a repetitive melodic pattern using just 4 notes in style of bernard hermann composer for the film Psycho applying this same melody to 4 different octaves to build suspense and excitement.

I was particular interested in accentuating note velocity and impact on such parts as the explosion of the glass at the beginning of the clip as well as the build up to and explosion of the wall about half way through. Also the silence that followed holds the suspense and is quickly followed by the higher pitch melody which shift the suspense of the chase sequence up a notch. I liked the way the notes describe the quick acceleration of the bat-bike as it resumes the chase. Similarly the build up to the crashing of the lorry.

I feel my piece is more of an original piece as it flows souley around one melodic progression. I feel the changes in pitch and variation of note intervals create the suspense and prevent it seeming repetitive. My difficulty is knowing what notes work well with each other. Ultimately I feel I have done the task to good standard.

I’ve also learnt how to use the input step sequencer in the process and begun to understand a little more about musical theory, where notes are placed on the stave and how the treble cleff and the bass cleff depict the octaves or in my eyes frequency ranges.

Important Point;  The musical structure does not obey normal rules because the score is organised intrinsically to suit the timings of scene changes.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

